Under state law, it is illegal to travel at a speed that endangers the safety of any person or property. Speeding is only a criminal violation in Illinois if you go more than a particular number of miles per hour over the posted speed limit. If you are accused of speeding by 1 to 25 miles per hour, you will face a fine. You can only be penalized if you exceed the speed limit by more than 10 miles per hour.
Criminal Offenses Vs. Infractions
The contrast between infractions and criminal violations is simple but important. With most laws, there are differences from one state to another. An infraction is not always the same as a criminal offense. With an infraction, there is no chance of jail time, and you will not have a criminal record as a result of it. Prosecutors can charge juveniles with a traffic violation in adult traffic court rather than the juvenile court in most states.
A criminal offense is more serious than a petty offense. A criminal violation, unlike an infraction, will almost certainly end up on your record. In addition to any penalties that may be imposed, there is the possibility of jail time.
Is Speeding a Crime?
In the end, the rules of the state in which you live determine whether speeding is considered a criminal offense or an infraction. In most states, however, speeding can be prosecuted as a criminal violation if you are caught exceeding the speed limit.
Speeding is usually a civil offense that results in a fine but no jail time. A ticket will be on your driver’s record for several years, but it will not appear on your criminal record as a conviction.
The States with the Highest Speeding Fines
Being issued a speeding ticket, which is a common result of irresponsible driving in several jurisdictions, can have a significant financial impact. In fact, every year in the United States, speeding penalties cost the government a staggering $6 billion.
Reckless driving is classed as a misdemeanor in Washington, the state with the highest penalties for speeding. Anyone convicted of reckless driving will face a total of $5,250 in fines and penalty assessments.
Some states have regulations that make it illegal for drivers to drive beyond the speed limit. In Rhode Island, Hawaii, and Virginia, first-time speed offenders risk a one-year license suspension for exceeding imposed speed restrictions.
What Is The Duration Of A Criminal Speeding Ticket On Your Record?
After a certain period of time, standard speeding citations are automatically removed from your driving record. Criminal speeding infractions, on the other hand, are not.
Misdemeanor and felony offenses in Arizona stay on your record until you’re 99 years old.
Because speeding is a Class 3 misdemeanor, it will remain on your record for the rest of your life.
That may sound serious for a traffic ticket, but the good news is that employers and government agencies may be lenient if they discover the infraction through a background check.
While some companies may view a felony speeding ticket as a red flag, most people are prepared to overlook it if your criminal record is otherwise clean.
The bad news is that if your felony speeding ticket becomes a barrier for job background checks, you’ll be saddled with the Class 3 misdemeanor for the rest of your life.
What’s Next for You?
If you have been arrested or charged with speeding, you may be feeling fearful, nervous, and unsure about what your future holds. That is why you should click here to learn how an attorney can help you with your speeding ticket.